Worlds First Brushed GPS Quadcopter Hubsan Desire X4 H502S

Hubsan ‘Desire’ X4 H502S FPV Quadcopter

Is this the worlds first mass produced Brushed GPS Quadcopter? The Hubsan ‘Desire’ X4 H502S FPV Quadcopter CLICK THIS LINK NOW

Latest Hubsan X4
Brushed GPS FPV Quadcopter Drone

Hubsan Desire X4 H502S Quadcopter Review

I’m so pleased to have just recieved this latest Hubsan X4 Quadcopter and I will carry out a full and impartial review. This is the very first Brushed GPS FPV Quadcopter I’ve come across and I’m looking forward to carrying out an impartial and honest review of this model. What I do find very exciting is the rapid development of these flying machines and Hubsan should be applauded for their innovation in bringing this to market.

Hubsan X4 502S
Lightweight Construction, Geared Brushed Motors

Weighing in at 155 grams including the 610 mAh 7.4v Lipo battery this is super lightweight and like most of the Hubsan products it is very well designed and constructed CLICK THIS LINK for full specification, price and delivery details

Hubsan Quadcopters
Hubsan X4 502S alongside his Big Brother the Hubsan X4 501S

The Hubsan X4 H502S is 220 size motor to motor and I’ve filmed it here alongside its Big brother the Hubsan X4 H501S (320 size) CLICK THIS LINK


Quadcopter Motors
Hubsan X4 Desire H502S Motor Housing

I’ve got a few Hubsans in my personal collection but this is the first with brushed geared motors. I had a quick set up and flight test today. Note to myself please always read manual before anything else. Found the propellers a bit tricky to get on at first read the manual fairly simple if you know what you are doing LOL. I’m lucky that I’ve been flying the Hubsan H501S recently and the 502S comes with the same remote control so I’m accustomed to it. It was pretty windy outside today so I’ve just checked the functionality and the compass calibration it all worked perfectly and I had 10 satellites very quickly. When arming the motors I found two propellers reluctant to spin and it was only when I applied more throttle they  engaged and spun freely. I therefore suggest breaking in the motors gently.

Took off and it hovered very well, will test some more tomorrow, thanks for reading will update ASAP

Update. Just couldn’t resist some indoor flying tonight. I wouldn’t do this with a brushless motor Quadcopter but quite happy to fly the Desire H502S around the house. make sure you have both GPS and RTH switched off and you change your settings to Fly When No GPS.

Fly When NO GPS
Fly When No GPS

I still had to perform compass calibration on binding the Quadcopter then went into settings and changed the Fly when no GPS to YES and armed the motors. The X4 H502S was great indoor flying fun and a great tool to hone your FPV skills

Couldn’t resist a quick indoor flight

Hubsan X4 H502S
Indoor Flight with the Hubsan ‘Desire’ X4 H502S


I must say I’m really enjoying the X4 H502S from Hubsan, so far it works as it should straight out of the box will need to test some more to check all the functions but as an introduction to GPS and an indoor and outdoor FPV Flyer with brushed motors it sets the bar. The Hubsan x4 502s very easy to set, control is simple and effective, I’ve had a couple of minor crashes and it seems very robust. I love the Hubsan X4 H501S it’s just a lovely Quadcopter and mine with the latest firmware is a joy to fly CLICK THIS LINK  but I would never feel safe flying it indoors. Hubsan are respected throughout the industry for packing great technology into small quadcopters and the Desire X4 H502S is no exception.  I find the Transmitter extremely user friendly with nice built-in screen.

Test some more tomorrow. Fly safe

Hubsan Desire X4 H502S
Desire ready for take off

Bright led lights on the Hubsan Desire X4 H502S

Hubsan X4 H502S Description:
Brand Name: Hubsan
Item: Desire X4 H502S
4 Channel 2.4 Giga Hertz Remote Control Frequency
220 size (Motor to Motor)
Powered by a 7.4V (2S) 610mAh Li-Po Battery
With a Built-in High Definition 720P camera.
4 Brushed (coreless) motors driving a geared system linked to the propellers
4 Bright led lights
The live video feed is transmitted via a 5.8G video feed to a screen on the remote controller
The H502S comes with a GPS system, Altitude hold a failsafe return to home and follow me functionality.
A headless mode can be enabled

Leave a Reply

